illustration that lists all eight senses

Sensory Processing and Infants

You've heard of the five senses, but did you know that we have three additional hidden senses?

Did you know we have three hidden sensory systems?

Most of us are familiar with the five main systems including vision, hearing, touch, taste and smell. Proprioception (body awareness), Vestibular (movement) and Interoception (internal organs including hunger) provide us with important information about our body and how we fit into the world around us.

The 8 sensory systems communicate with each other to help us identify and respond to sensory stimulation. Have you ever missed the curb when stepping up onto the sidewalk? Whoops, that was your sensory systems miscommunicating.

Sensory processing errors happen to us all, but can become a situation requiring extra help if the miscommunications happen frequently. This is true in infants, children, and adults.

Early interventionists have skills and experience to help families meet their child’s unique sensory needs. Early intervention can work with you to prevent issues associated with sensory challenges, including difficulty bonding/attaching, developing self-soothing skills, and participating in healthy activities such as community events and making friends.

At the Community Connections Early Learning Program, we provide a wide range of services, in partnership with families and the community to support the development of young children age birth to 3 years.

Our array of services include: Infant Massage, Parenting, Developmental Screenings, Developmental Evaluations, Vision and Hearing Screenings, Developmental therapy, Speech therapy, Motor therapy, Playgroups, and Home visiting.

Kristin Coffin, OT

Kristin Coffin is an Occupational Therapist in our Early Learning Program.

Thank you to Bounce Back Health for the “8 Senses” graphic.

Share this story

Pin it

Related Posts